Award Nominations

VFP will offer five awards this year. Four of the five awards are for individuals. VFP will also offer the Chapter of the Year Award, which will be presented at the banquet. The deadline for the awards nominations is June 5th

To submit nominations for an individual award submit here.

To submit nominations for a Chapter of the Year award submit here.


Individual Award Categories


The Gandhian Non-Violence Award 
The Veterans For Peace Gandhian Non-Violence Award is given to the Associate or Full Member who best exemplifies the qualities of compassion and selfless service according to Mohandas K. Gandhi’s philosophy that the highest form of service is rooted in love and non-violence and “the best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in service to others.” Ideal candidates for the award would include members who give themselves unselfishly in service to others in their personal lives, and in their communities.This award is open to  Full or Associate members who have passed away since the previous convention submission deadline.

The Gandhian Non-Violence Award
2017  John Heuer and Kathy Kelly
2018 Zahid Chaudhry


Howard Zinn Lifetime Achievement Award

The Howard Zinn Lifetime Achievement Award is bestowed upon the person who, during their lifetime, have made significant and ongoing outstanding contributions to the cause of peace. This individual will have also made exceptional efforts to increase public awareness of the costs of war (via activism, teaching, writing, lecturing, the arts, music, film, stage, screen or radio).  

Howard Zinn Lifetime Achievement Award Winners
2012 Ellen Murphy
2013 Chelsea Manning
2014 Wayne Wittman
2015 Col. Ann Wright
2016 Father Louis Vitale
2017  Governor Masahide Ōta
2018 Stan Levin
2019 Paul Cox


Service and Stewardship Award 

The Service and Stewardship award is given to an individual or group who/which has performed exemplary service in support of the livelihoods of veterans, advance the culture of peace in their local communities, nationally or internationally.

Service and Stewardship Award Winners
2012 Stuart Riley
2013 Will Williams
2014 Kim Carlyle
2015 Chuck Searcy
2016 Ellen Davidson
2017  Ken Ashe
2018 Mark Flening
2019 Helen Jaccard


Leadership in Peace Award

The Leadership in Peace Award is given to the person or organization that displays initiative, inclusiveness, tirelessness and persistence in moving the mission of Veterans For Peace forward either locally, nationally or internationally.

Leadership in Peace Award Winners
2012 Michael Cervantes
2013 Barry Ladendorf
2014 Fr. Roy Bourgeois
2015 Ben Griffin
2016 Paul Gessler
2017  No Award presented
2018 Ray McGovern
2019 Ken Mayers



Chapter of the Year Award

The Chapter of the Year Award is awarded each year to the chapter which best exemplifies the five criteria of set forth by the awards committee (media exposure, honors, chapter growth, community service and activism). Chapters will self-report their activities to the awards committee on a form provided here. The evaluation period is June 1st-May 31st.

Chapter of the Year Winners
2017 CA Hugh Thompson Memorial Chapter 91 in San Diego, CA
2018 New York City, Chapter 34
2019 Minneapolis, Minnesota Chapter 27